
Attorney Qualifications for County Reimbursement, Juvenile Cases 

Pursuant to Ohio Administrative Code section 120-1-10, appointed counsel must meet these requirements in order to qualify for state reimbursement. 
The state public defender may refuse to reimburse the county for cases on which appointed counsel do not meet these requirements. 

Juvenile cases Training* Experience **
Unruly, truancy, violation 
of court order, and 
misdemeanors cases 

Within two years prior to the 
appointment, completed minimum six 
hours CLE in juvenile delinquency practice 
and procedure 

OR 
Successful completion of clinical 
education program on juvenile law 

In lieu of required training, one year of experience as an attorney 

Juvenile OVI cases Within two years prior to the 
appointment, completed minimum six 
hours CLE focused on OVI practice and 
procedure 

Juvenile cases involving 
3rd, 4th, and 5th degree 
felonies 

Within two years prior to appointment, 
minimum 12 hours CLE in criminal 
practice and procedure, at least six of 
which must be in juvenile delinquency 
practice and procedure 

At least one year of experience as attorney practicing in juvenile delinquency law 

Juvenile cases involving 1st 
and 2nd degree felonies 

Within two years prior to appointment, 
minimum 12 hours CLE in criminal 
practice and procedure, at least six of 
which must be in juvenile delinquency 
practice and procedure 

At least two years of experience as attorney practicing in juvenile delinquency law 
AND 

Within 10 years preceding the appointment, prior experience as trial counsel in at least two 
bench trials in juvenile court, at least one of which was as lead counsel  

Bindover and serious 
youthful offender cases 

Within two years prior to appointment, 
minimum 12 hours CLE in criminal 
practice and procedure, at least six of 
which must be in juvenile delinquency 
practice and procedure 

Requisite experience to be appointed to a juvenile case based upon the highest degree of 
charge in the case 

AND 
Requisite experience to be appointed to an adult case based upon the highest degree felony 
charged OR Co-counsel who meets the adult-case training and experience requirements 
must also be appointed 

Juvenile cases involving 
murder and aggravated 
murder cases 

Within two years prior to appointment, 
minimum 12 hours CLE in criminal 
practice and procedure, at least six of 
which must be in juvenile delinquency 
practice and procedure 

At least three years of experience as attorney practicing in juvenile delinquency law 
AND 

Within 10 years preceding appointment, prior experience as lead trial counsel in at least 
three bench trials in juvenile court, at least two of which involved a felony-level charge  

*CLE hours must be certified by the Ohio Supreme Court commission on continuing legal education.

** Attorneys appointed to represent indigent clients in felony cases must meet the applicable requirements. Where an attorney within ten years prior to the appointment successfully completed a trial training
program, consisting of 30 hours of instruction or more, the training program will satisfy any requirement in OAC 120-1-10 to serve as: lead counsel in one criminal jury trial and lead counsel in one delinquency 
bench trial. 




